Blog 5: “What The Best Interviewers Get Right”

After reading “What The Best Interviewers Get Right”, by Brian Casel, there are two pieces of advice that I think would be the hardest to follow. The first one being having “Prepared questions & unprepared followup questions. The second one being “Not afraid to interrupt”.

            I personally don’t think I would struggle with making up some prepared questions. I think that would be easy. You just have to sit down and write out a bunch of different questions that you want to know about the person you’re interviewing. Where I think it would get hard, is the unprepared followup questions. You could try and prepare yourself for this by maybe making up other questions that kind of go with your prepared questions to help you, but I think that you would have to be a quick thinker in order to come up with good un-prepared questions to ask. He says that the interviewer must “be attentive enough to latch onto the guest’s answers, and dig in with followup questions based on what they’ve just said”. (Casel, n.d.) I think this would be really hard, because not only are you thinking of a followup question, but you’re also trying to listen and absorb absolutely everything they’re saying.

            I also think that not being afraid to interrupt would also be difficult for me. I was raised to listen to what others have to say, without interrupting. Once they’re done, then I can put my two cents in. It’s rude to interrupt. (I know to be a good interviewing it’s important to be able to do this). I just don’t think I would be able to do it confidently without feeling bad. I understand that if you only had a certain amount of time to do an interview, you don’t want someone rambling on off topic the whole time. But, I probably would sit there and just let them talk.

            I don’t think that I would be very successful interviewing people for a living, unless I had a limitless amount of time to listen to people.  But hey, that’s just me

Word count: 298

Reference

Source: http://casjam.com/what-the-best-interviewers-get-right/

Leave a comment